WITH 2,140 REVIEWS
To view local phone numbers
Read what people are saying
Precision Garage Door of St. Paul
about Precision Garage Door
has received 9 reviews, averaging 2.00 Stars:
Got quote right away. Technician was able to come out next day but did not complete job on same day. I had to call company to alert them the job was not complete. The technician was able to return the next week at which time he was able to complete the job, however once he left the safety light sensors turned off and his supervisor had to return to the job to replace the wiring. Overall the job wasn't done how it was promised and then I had to be the one to call that it wasn't completed correctly. Overall fast responses but not the quality that I saw from other reviews or what I was promised from the sales person.
- Paul S
Thank you for letting us know of your experience. We are sorry to hear that your garage door installation and service was less than stellar. Please be assured that we take your issue seriously and will use your feedback to improve. We are happy that the issues are now resolved and that you feel we took care of them promptly. We appreciate your business and your detailed review.
Service Team: Mike G - Technician
Saint Paul, MN
Door was repaired but cost was extremely high Tech-Chad came out and repaired door -around 5 hundred Door worked- figured ok needed it done Four days later power outage in area due to storm,tried to open door manually- would not work called and got another tech Bret he came out and could not get it to operate manually.He tried many things but with Little success- I lost it - he worked on it but still no success so he proposed that for $500.00 he would send another Tech the following day to fix it Next day Chad shows up and fixes door for $500.00 So for $1000.00 dollars, I get my door fixed—— Question. What did Chad do in 1st repair that caused the door to not open manually. Was attempted repair measures done during Bert’s work cause higher cost to get door operable. I have heard good reviews about Prescision but this doesn’t sound like good business practices
- Kevin B
Thank you for letting us know of your experience. I'm sorry it is less than stellar, but letting us know is valuable as it helps us improve. We have had a chance to look over this situation and do see that on our first visit that many items were causing issues in our Condition Report and and estimate was given to address all of the issues, yet the repair authorized only addressed part of the problem. The next visit was from our Manager, who tried to make it work, but the rest of the repairs were necessary as well. We are sorry that you are not happy with the way this all worked out, but hope that you are happy with the end result. We back our work and our products and trust they will serve you well for the future. Should you have any further questions, do not hesitate to call.
Service Team: Chad - Technician
Cottage Grove, MN
I chose to go with Precision based on their overall customer satisfaction ratings. Unfortunately, they did not meet our service expectations several times throughout our installation experience. 1. Our garage door was installed 3/4” crooked with the surrounding garage trim and floor. This “offset” was further highlighted by the windows near the top of the door and a black weather seal at the bottom of a white garage door - leaving a visible gap. I was told the door was installed “level” but the garage floor was not level. Thie installation team did not discuss or bring this to our attention until the installation was completed. It was also frustrating because our prior garage door was not crooked and did not have a visible opening/gap between the weather seal and the garage floor. 2. I called customer service the same day after installation was completed and shared our concerns. The customer service representative rudely replied “it is not our fault your garage floor is not level”. I asked to speak to a manager and she said I would get a call back that day. I did not get my call returned. I called again the next day, and was later called back by a quality assurance manager. He was very service oriented over the phone, and we scheduled an appointment for the next week to have someone come out and assess the installation and see if there were any options to improve the 3/4” offset. 3. The quality assurance technician was scheduled to arrive today between 8-9am. He did not show up so I called at 9:15am to see if he was still coming (as we had another appointment we needed to leave for by 9:45am). He said there was confusion and miscommunication in the office but was on his way. No one called to say he was going to be late or was still coming. He arrived at 9:40am (which caused us to be late for our other appointment). He was able to adjust the cables to correct most of the offset. We discussed replacing the black weather seal with a grey weather seal to minimize the appearance of the offset that remained. He called his manager to see if he could get approval to do so without a charge. It was determined that it was an “aesthetic appearance correction” and therefore would cost us $241 to replace it. After spending $3230 to have a garage door installed at a slant, I was not pleased to hear that I could have the “aesthetic appearance” issue addressed for another $241. The technician also said that if I wanted it done it would require another appointment as he would otherwise be late for his 10:00am appointment (although being late to our appointment did not seem to be as concerning). Bottom line, I had high expectations for stellar service given their reviews. I am more than willing to pay more to receive quality service. I am trying to be fair in rating them 2 out of 5 stars. Given our experience, I would not recommend Precision and have to believe for the price you can get a better experience and result elsewhere.
I would like to thank you for this detailed feedback you have given us so that we can serve you and other Precision Garage Door customers better. Hearing your experience helps us to improve and we assure you that we have heard you. We are troubled that you are not 100% satisfied with your services and will do all that we can to resolve these issues. We will be reaching out with some next steps and look forward to making this right for you.
Eden Prairie, MN
I think I was really overcharged for the work that was done on my door. I told the technician that I would be replacing the door in a year and he still charged me $450 just to get my door working again.
- Blake E
We greatly appreciate the feedback you have given us so that we can serve you and other Precision Garage Door customers better. We benefit in seeing your perspective. We assure you that we have heard you and will look further into this internally. Thank you for helping us get better. You are the most valued part of what we do.
Fast and courtesy, however extremely expensive. I would not use again or refer to anyone. I have had broken springs and repairs on this garage door three times in the past. The repair bills were substantially less. I understand there have been price increases and a pandemic, but was shocked with the initial repair estimate provided by Precision Garage Door service today.
- Jay Paulson
Thank you for your feedback. Every repair estimate is custom made for each situation and the condition report lists all 25 components inspected and our diagnosis. We will be happy to discuss anything you might have questions on. I'm sorry the pricing for our services didn't match your expectations, but we respect your choice and your opinion. Best regards.
Service Team: Bret - Service Manager
Devon was very personable and professional. However a $381invoice for 30-45 minutes of work does not add up in my opinion. I feel like I was charged for weekend work when the website states otherwise.
- Tristam F
Tristam, thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We appreciated you returning Tom's call after we reached out to talk through your concerns. We take our customer reviews very serious. We wanted to make sure you understood that we do not charge extra for weekend work and you were charged the same as if you called in during and weekday. We are happy that you found resolution with Tom and thank you for kind words regarding Devon's professionalism.
I failed to do my homework, so I deserved to pay at least twice for the repair that was done. I was charged $480 (includes a $25 discount for seniors) to replace the tracks on my garage door. I thought at the time, it was high but was under a bit of a time constraint. Afterwards, I researched and discovered the same replacement averages about $200 to $250. The repairman was here for all of an hour, spent about 35 actual minutes on the replacement of the track on both sides of the door. So, shame on me for failure to do the proper research I usually do before getting a project done and shame on me for not getting more than 1 quote.
- Jo Ann Cochran
New Door Sales and Installation Team: Jason - Install Manager
Technician was very friendly and helpful. Would have given 5 stars if they didn't charge me 200 bucks for a sprocket replacement kit that you can get on Amazon for 20 bucks. Next time I'll go a few days without a garage door opener and fix it myself. Wish I would have priced the kit before they fixed it. Won't be calling these guys again! What a ripoff!
- Eric McGraw
Thank you for letting us know about your experience. I am happy to hear that we were able to get your issue resolved in a friendly and timely manner. We are a home service company striving to offer same-day service. We are professionals, with all of the right tools, stocking quality parts on our trucks in order to fix it right the first time for our customers. Our pricing is competitive in the industry and includes the 25-point inspection that was done on your door and opener which ensures a complete solution. We will be here to honor our warranties and are happy to save homeowners valuable time so they spend as little time as possible inconvenienced by garage door issues.
Prompt reply to request for service. Service technician called to confirm appt. even came early. Did through assessment and went over repairs and pricing. Showed me all the repairs. Courteous. Would recommend to others.
- Gene Mickelson
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to let us know of your experience.
Office: (651) 355-1714
53 Woodlynn Ave
St. Paul, MN 55117
Office: (952) 800-3338
14607 Felton Ct
Apple Valley, MN 55124
Office: (715) 201-2933
595 Schommer Dr
Hudson, WI 54016
10701 93rd Ave N
Maple Grove, MN 55369